So, this is a little embarrassing, but maybe talking about it will make me feel a little better.

I am 23 years old.  I am an adult.  I have a job, have my own apartment, take care of all my bills, am engaged, have all sorts of adult responsibilities, yadda yadda yada.

I am also afraid of the dark.

I don’t know what caused it.  Blame it on CNN kidnapping stories or too many scary movies (I watched ‘Poltergeist’ when I was 7.  It’s the only time a movie ever game me nightmares).  Whatever the cause, whenever I close my eyes I can’t help but feel things around me, watching me, waiting to ‘get’ me.

I don’t like to hang my hands or feet out of the blankets when I sleep because who knows what shit is waiting underneath my bed to reach out and grab me?

I can’t sleep with mirrors facing my bed.  I don’t like to look in mirrors at night or in dark rooms, because I’m afraid of what I might see in them.

This, I recognize, is a problem (a completely embarrassing one).  A lot of the visualization and meditation exercises I’d like to try involve closing my eyes for extended periods of time.  I can’t do it without getting really anxious and peeping out from under my eyelids to check and make sure everything is “ok.”

Does anyone else have this problem, and do you have any tips?

